The intention of this blog is only to share the collections. Inadvertently if any file is under copyright, please intimate me so that it can be removed forthwith.

Tuesday, March 24, 2009


Bilahari, a janya of the 29th mela Dheera Shankarabharanam.
Bilahari is an audava sampoorna raga. While the aarohanam has five notes, the avarohanam is complete with all seven notes.
Aarohanam: S R 2 G3 P D2 S
Avarohanam: S N3 D2 P M1 G3 R2 S
Swaras used are Chatushruti Rishabha, Antara Gandhara, Shudha Madhyamamam (only in avarohanam), Panchamam, Chatushruti Dhaivatam and Kakali Nishadam. Occasionally, Kaishiki Nishadam is used as anya swara (alien note). This makes the raga a Bhashanga raga.
Generally, small nishada or Kaisiki Nishada is used only in sancharas such as:
P D2 N1 P D2 P
The sanchara is a beautiful one and makes the raga soulful.
Jantai prayogas (swaras used in pairs) such as GG, PP, DD are used frequently. The prayoga G P D S N D P helps to bring out the raga chhaya or shade of the raga distinctly while singing the alapana. Careless singing or accidental omission of the note N in the avarohanam immediately brings in the raga Mohanam. Hence, care must be taken to include N in avarohanam always.
This raga is usually featured in the first half of a concert as the sub-main or the second main piece. Step by step development of raga alapana is a must to bring out the rasa.
Veera rasa is attributed to this raga.
This is also known as a morning raga. This popular raga is a favorite of Nadaswara players.
One very popular composition in this raga is 'Ra Ra Venugopala', a swara jati used in early stages of training. Students find it very easy to learn.
This raga resembles the Hindustani raga 'Aliya Bilaval', though this has the note N in the arohana, which is omitted in Bilahari. (Courtesy:

  1. Appaa unai maravene - T. V. Sankaranarayanan
  2. Bhakthiyinaale - Raajkumar Bharathi
  3. Charanu janakana - Sudha Raghunathan
  4. Dhorakunaa - Raajkumar Bharathi
  5. Dhorakunaa - Nithyashree
  6. Dhorakunaa - Maharajapuram Santhanam
  7. Gopaalam - Nithyashree
  8. Hege machahasili - Maharajapuram Santhanam
  9. Ini namakkoru - Neiveli Santhanagopalan
  10. Inthakaana aanandamemi - T. V. Sankaranarayanan
  11. Inthakaana aanandhamemi - Ranjani & Gayathri
  12. Kaamaakshi (Aalapana) - Sanjay subramaniam
  13. Kaamaakshi - Sanjay Subramaniam
  14. Kaanbadheppodhu - Aruna Sairam
  15. Kannai thirandhu paar - T. N. Seshagopalan
  16. Kanu konti nee - T.N. Seshagopalan
  17. Maa mayura - Sikkil Gurucharan
  18. Maa mayoora - Nithyashree
  19. Naa jeevaadhaara - Maharajapuram Santhanam
  20. Paridhaanamichite - T.N. Sesagopalan
  21. Pardhaanamichite - Ranjani & Gayathri
  22. Pardhaanamichite - T. K. Rangachari
  23. RTP - T. M. Krishna
  24. Sempavala - Nithyashree
  25. Shri Balasubramanya - Nisha P. Rajagopal
  26. Shri Balasubramanya - Maharajapuram S. Ramachandran
  27. Shri Balasubramania - P. Unnikrishnan
  28. Shri Balasubramanya - Sowmya
  29. Shri Balasubramanya - Maharajapuram Santhanam
  30. Shri chaamundeswari - T. N. Seshagopalan
  31. Shri chaamundeswari - Sanjay Subramaniam
  32. Sri Kaamakshi - D. K Pattammal *
  33. Sri Madhurapuri - Nithyashree
  34. Sri Madhuraapuri - Maharajapuram Santhanam
  35. Thillaanaa - Sudha Raghunathan
  36. Thillaana - T. N. Seshagopalan
  37. Tholijanma - Maharajapuram Santhanam
  38. Tholijanma - Ariyakkudi
  39. Verpu yendu - T.M.Krishna
  40. Vidudhalai - Sowmya
  41. Yeka dhantham - M.L. Vasanthakumari
* added on 6th June 09

No comments: