The intention of this blog is only to share the collections. Inadvertently if any file is under copyright, please intimate me so that it can be removed forthwith.

Monday, August 2, 2010

Carnatic Music Raagaas - Naagagandhari
This raga is of three types^ derived from three different melas. A nishadantya janya raga derived from the 20th mela Natabhairavi. Notes taken by the raga besides Sa and Pa are Chatusruti Ri^ Sadharana Ga^ Sudha Ma^ Sudha Dha and Kaishiki Ni. Nagagandharu admits s r m g m p d n s vakra arohana also. The second type is derived from the 23rd mela Gaurimanohari. The third type is derived from the 22nd mela Kharaharapriya. The raga came to popularity through the compositions of Muthuswamy Dikshitar.

20 naTabhairavi janya
Aa: S R2 M1 G2 M1 P D1 N2 S
Av: S N2 D1 P M1 G2 R2 S


    nAgagAndhAri - D  

  1. Naagagaandhaari - Maharajapuram Santhanam 
  2. Naagagaandhari - Nisha Rajagopal
  3. Naagagaandhaari - R.Ganesh 
  4. Naagagaandhaari - Sowmya 
  5. O Raama raama - P. Unnikrishnan 
  6. Sarasi Janaabha - Chithra 
  7. Sarasi janaabha - T.K. Rangachari 
  8. Sarasi Janaabha - T.M.Krishna 
  9. Sundareswara 1 - Madurai Somu
  10. Sundareswara 2 - Madurai Somu